AMARILLO, Texas – The Texas Wheat Producers Board (TWPB) will hold its biennial election to elect five board members to fill expiring positions. The election, to be held by mail, officially begins March 24, 2017 and will conclude April 7, 2017.

Terms expiring in 2017 include Collin Bowers of District I, David Cleavinger of District II, Jody Bellah of District III, Glen Gibson of District IV and Gary Murphy of District IV.

Any person who is engaged in commercial wheat production in Texas is eligible to vote for the district in which they reside. This includes owners of farms and their tenants and share croppers if they are subject to paying the assessment that is collected on wheat within the following counties:


District I:     Dallam, Sherman, Ochiltree, Lipscomb, Hansford, Roberts, Moore, Hartley, Hutchinson and Gray.


District II:   Carson, Potter, Oldham, Deaf Smith, Randall, Armstrong, Briscoe, Swisher, Castro, Parmer, Hale and Floyd.


District III:  Childress, Hardeman, Foard, Knox, Throckmorton, Haskell, Archer, Baylor, Wilbarger, Wichita, Young and Clay.


District IV:  All other counties in Texas.


Ballots are available from the Texas AgriLife Extension Service and Farm Service Agency offices in each Texas county, local elevators or by mail from the TWPB office between March 24, 2017 and April 7, 2017. Ballots must be mailed to the TWPB, 5405 West I-40, Amarillo, Texas 79106, and will not be valid with a postmark date later than April 7, 2017.

Any person qualified to vote is also qualified to seek a six-year membership on the Texas Wheat Producers Board. Qualified persons must reside within the TWPB voting district wherein they seek nomination. The application must be signed by the nominee and at least ten other persons from that district eligible to vote in the election. Such applications must be received at least 30 days prior to the election date, in order to have the nominee’s name placed on the ballot. Nominee applications may be obtained upon request to the Texas Wheat Producers Board office at 5405 West Interstate 40, Amarillo, Texas 79106, or by calling (806) 352-2191.

Current TWPB members whose terms are not expiring are Scott Born of Ferris, Bryan Clift of Stratford, Ken Davis of Grandview, Fred Dwyer of Wichita Falls, Jack Norman of Howe, Scott McGarraugh of Perryton, Corby Shadid of Panhandle, Ben Scholz of Lavon, Freddie Streit of Vernon and Tommy Womack of Tulia.

Board members are responsible for the allocation of funds from a state-wide wheat producer assessment of two cents per bushel.  These funds are applied to wheat research, education and market development to further the wheat industry in Texas. The Texas Agricultural Commodity Referendum Law prohibits such funds from being used for lobbying or legislative efforts.  For more information, contact the Texas Wheat Producers Board office at (806) 352-2191, by email at or visit